Silence

PLEASE NOTE: For mature readers only.  No, this short-short is not sexual in any way, shape, or form.  Get your mind out of the gutter please.

Impact of a drop of water on a water-surface.

Image via Wikipedia

Drip. . . drip. . . drip. . . drop.  Again and again I hear it, never-ceasing, never stopping.  Just continual drip. . . drip. . . drip. . . drop.  It is driving me mad.  I hear it everyday, all day long.  Drip. . . drip. . . drip. . . Drop.

I have inspected every faucet, every pipe, every hose in the house, every place I could think of that might have a leak.  I have found no such leak.  Drip. . . Drip. . . Drip. . . Drop.

My wife packed up and left me.  She took the kids with her.  I think she said she was going to her parents.  I’m not sure.  I couldn’t hear her that well.  All I could hear was. . . .   DRIP. . . DRIP. . . DRIP. . . Drop.

My boss called me today.  I think he fired me.  Not sure all I could hear was the dripping.  DRIP. . . DRIP. . . DRIP. . . Drop.

I accidentally cut my hand open with a knife while making dinner.  For some reason the sound of the dripping sounded fainter.  I cleaned and bandaged it and finished making dinner.  Drip. . . drip. . . drip. . . Drop.

I’ve been hearing it for nearly three months now.  My wife and kids are still at her parents house.  My friends used to visit, but I haven’t seen one of them in a week or two.  I’m not sure.  The sound of the leak dripping makes it impossible to think.  DRIP. . . DRIP. . . DRIP. . . Drop.

I found a way to make it quieter at least.  Last week when I cut myself it wasn’t as bad.  I am trying it again now.  The more and bigger cuts I make the quieter it gets.  Drip. . . drip. . . drip. . . drop.  I am bleeding from everywhere, but my wrists, so far.  Ah, that is better, finally quite, but now I am starting to feel cold.  drip. . . drip. . . drip. . . DROP.  Silence.

This entry was posted in Short-shorts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Silence

  1. Pingback: Do Not Disturb (My Blankets) | Novas Log

Leave a Reply

